Two Niños

From infertility to two babes at once, this is my life…

My little ones

Posted by Mel on June 19, 2007

Over the last couple of weeks, D has become quite a little chatter box. He will attempt many words (as long as they are simple) that you speak to him. Here are the words he is ‘saying’ now (some only once, but he said them!):

– dada – this is by far his favorite word. It is used as a noun, verb, adjective, etc. and it works really great in all situations. He does, however, know that dada is Daddy.

– daddy – a variation on dada but much less utilized

– mama – reserved for moments of deep concentration or agitation. I’m not quite sure he really knows who mama is, but I believe in my heart.

– dog – pronounced “dod” or “dah” – he knows what a dog is. Should I be offended? He loves dogs.

– Uh oh – pronounced “UH…o” (sometimes without the o). But he does say this at appropriate times usually. Like when he hurls his spoon over the side of the high chair…UH…o.

– grandma – prounounced “nannaw”. He certainly knows who grandma is and when you ask him ‘where’s grandma’ he immediately looks to the door or window (if she’s not here).

– hi – prounounced “iiiiiiiii” with the exact intonation that I use when I say it to them. It is a bit freaky that they can mimic you so precisely. I better start watching the @#$#$L’s.

– bye bye – this is a new one. He repeats it, but I don’t think he has said it spontaneously yet when waving bye bye.

– no no – this is a new one too. He is very precise about rounding his lips to get the ‘o’ of no out. Um, maybe he’s heard me say this one too many times?

He has also attempted a few more (like please, more, and thank you) but they have not been said well or often enough to count yet. But it is fun. He is progressing by leaps and bounds and it is amazing to watch.

E is not quite as chatty as D yet, but she has started mimicking alot. Here are some of the funny things she is doing now:

– when you say ‘are you gonna be 1’ and hold up one finger, she will hold up her first finger and smile really big.

– when you are doing the above, if you bend your finger up and down, she will do it back to you.

– if you say ‘no, no’ and shake your finger accordingly, she will start shaking her finger back at you. Today, she was spitting her food at me for like 15 minutes during lunch. I told her ‘no, no’ and shook my finger (somewhat playfully). She started mimicking me, which makes it very hard to be stern, and D started saying ‘no, no’. It was pretty darn funny.

– this one is hard to describe, but if you stick your tongue in and out of your mouth and make noises while you are doing it, she will do the same right back. This one has provided me endless opportunities for laughter. It is just hilarious.

It is fun lately, watching them learn and change. They are definitely developing their own personalities and temperaments. We have had a few (albeit short-lived) temper tantrums already – arched backs and everything. As everyone always says to me (and boy do I love these nuggets of wisdom) – “just wait until they start doing – [insert next developmental milestone here] you are going to have your hands full!!” Um yes, I will – but I’m getting pretty good at juggling.

Leave a Reply

 
